Board Rejects Mayor\'s Police Commission Appointments
by Nicole Yelich
May 16, 2018

The Board of Supervisors rejected the reappointment of Joe Marshall and Sonia Melara to the Police Commission with a 6-5 vote.  The commission currently has three sitting members.

Without quorum, the commission cannot hold meetings, which means they are unable to flesh out policy surrounding the use of tasers, oversee disciplinary hearings, or address the 272 reform recommendations from the U.S. Department of Justice following a series of police shootings.

Supervisors Sandra Lee Fewer, Malia Cohen, Norman Yee, Aaron Peskin, Hillary Ronen and Jane Kim voted against the recommendations.